The first time back in person since 2019, this year’s Celebration of Leadership Award Ceremony highlighted 109 nominees for their demonstrations of servant leadership and contributions to the community. Leadership Everyone presented 39 awards that recognized diverse people, projects and organizations leading and serving our region.

Back in person for the first time in four years, Leadership Everyone held its 29th Annual Celebration of Leadership (COL) at Old National Events Plaza on Tuesday night.

Presented by title sponsor Fifth Third Bank, the event recognized and celebrated the innovative, collaborative, and courageous accomplishments of 109 nominees.

For 29 years, Celebration of Leadership has highlighted servant leaders of every age, race, ethnicity, religion and background from within our region. “We were thrilled to be back in person this year for COL,” says Leadership Everyone CEO, Lynn Miller Pease. “There is nothing like the energy in the room when nominees, nominators, presenters, and other community members come together to celebrate the selfless and inspirational work being done.”

Of the 109 nominees, Leadership Everyone presented 39 awards to recipients across the region. Awards were given in the following categories: Arts, Community & Neighborhood, Education, Government, Public Service & Environment, Health & Social Service, as well as numerous special awards. Nominations for next year’s event can be submitted at any time at col.leadershipeveryone.org.



Lifetime Achievement Awards: Stanley Madison, Larry Samples, Lucy Williams

Special Awards: The Spirit Award - Vanderburgh Humane Society and Evansville Animal Care & Control;
Sara B. Davies Visionary Award - Mayor Stephanie Terry; Sam Featherstone Youth Award - Viggo
Rodenberg; Sam Featherstone Youth Award - Clone Power Washing; Leader in Technology Award - New
Tech FIRST Robotics Team 7657; Bryce Jordan Servant Leader Award - Keith Rawley;
Winternheimer/LaMar Public Service Award - Jim Hanley; Lt. Colonel Reginald P. Gibson Award - Dr. Ernie
Griffin; Inspiration Award - Bobbie Jarrett; LatinX Award - Evansville Día de los Muertos; Epic Award -
Sunset Skatepark; Shirley James “Greening the Community” Award - Rain'R Shine Farm; Rev. Kevin
Fleming Award - UE Journey to Justice; Willie Effie Thomas Diversity Award - New Traditions: Diversity
Series; Nancy Sieben Koehler Sustainability Award - Raymond B. Preston Family Foundation, Inc.; Regional
Impact Award - Leah Curry; Transformational Inclusion Award - Evansville Promise Neighborhood; Darrell
Ragland Community Collaboration Award - SABIC, Brand Safeway, and BMWC

Division Awards:

Individual - Mary McNamee Bower; Project or Program - Pre to 3 Program at the
Vanderburgh County Health Department; Business or Organization - UE Center for Innovation & Change
Recognition for Individual Achievement: Arts & Culture - Joe Atkinson; Community & Neighborhood -
Alma Dabrowski; Education - Jessica Reid; Government, Public Service, & Environment - Adam Will; Health
& Social Services - Kelsey Schapker
Recognition for Project or Program Achievement: Arts & Culture - North High School Green Brigade
Marching Band; Community & Neighborhood - Henderson County Public Library "The Giving Tree Village";
Education - The Lunch Box; Government, Public Service, & Environment - Adopt-an-Ash - Evansville; Health
& Social Services - Deaconess Medication Assistance Program and Medication Therapy Management
Recognition for Business or Organization Achievement: Arts & Culture - UE Dance Company; Community
& Neighborhood - Seton Harvest; Education - Caring Friends Daycare Ministry; Government, Public Service,
& Environment - Veterans for Peace; Health & Social Services - INvets

More from Local News